Hartbeespoort restaurant in top 200 in the world

Chef Chantel Dartnall

Restaurant Mosaic, was announced the highest ranking South African restaurant at the annual La Liste World Restaurant Awards in Paris.

Chef Chantel Dartnall, was invited as part of only sixty top chefs from around the globe to attend the annual La Liste World Restaurant Awards in Paris and announced as the official Country Winner, and highest ranking restaurant in South Africa.

The restaurant was also placed in the La Liste 200 top restaurants in the world.

The La Liste World Restaurant Awards is an international award sanctioned by France’s Foreign Ministry consistently acknowledging the finest culinary professionals from around the globe. La Liste provides an objective ranking of the World’s Top 1000 restaurants based on the compilation of hundreds of guidebooks and millions of online reviews. La Liste offers the best global restaurant selection handpicked by discerning food critics and expert guides.

Chantel, as one of the top 60 chefs from 20 countries, was invited to Paris to attend the gala evening where the rankings were announced: “We are extremely proud and delighted to be recognised on the global culinary stage alongside so many talented chefs who I admire greatly. It is such an honour to represent South Africa at this elite level” she said.

Chantel defines her approach as “Botanical Cuisine – to feature Mother Nature on a plate.”It’s about capturing nature’s nuances, but it’s also about studying the medicinal properties of the herbs and flowers included in the menu, to aid in digestion, promote blood circulation and a general feeling of wellbeing.” She believes it is vital to serve visually appealing dishes that tell a story and stimulate diners’ senses from the moment the food arrives at the table.

Restaurant Mosaic, at The Orient Private Hotel has received numerous international awards such as the La Liste Best Wine Cellar in the World 2019, The Best Wine List 2019, Top 200 International Selection 2019 and Top 1000 International Selection 2017 and 2018.