What you need to know about the LOCKDOWN

1. All shops and businesses will be closed, except for pharmacies, laboratories, banks, essential financial and payment services, including the JSE, supermarkets, petrol stations, and health care providers.

2. People exempted from lockdown: essential personnel including health workers, security services and other persons necessary for the response to the pandemic and those involved in the production, distribution, and supply of food and basic goods, essential banking services, the maintenance of power, water and telecommunications services, laboratory services, and the provision of medical and hygiene products. A full list of essential personnel will be published.

3. Individuals will not be allowed to leave their homes except under strictly controlled circumstances such as to seek medical care, buy food, medicine, and other supplies or collect a social grant.

4. Temporary shelters that meet the necessary hygiene standards will be identified for homeless people. Sites are also being identified for quarantine and self-isolation for people who cannot self-isolate at home.

5. Provision will be made for essential transport services to continue, including transport for essential staff and for patients who need to be managed elsewhere.

6. South African citizens and residents arriving from high-risk countries will automatically be placed under quarantine for 14 days.

7. Non-South Africans arriving on flights from high-risk countries identified a week ago will be turned back.

8. International flights to Lanseria Airport will be temporarily suspended.

9. International travellers who arrived in South Africa after 9 March 2020 from high-risk countries will be confined to their hotels until they have completed a 14-day period of quarantine.