ANC removes leadership in five municipalities, is Madibeng next?

The ANC recalled five mayors, speakers and whips from municipalities in North West on Friday, 11 September.

The 15 people in five municipalities were removed from their positions by the ANC North West interim provincial committee (IPC).

The mayors, speakers and whips from the Mahikeng, Ditsobotla, Maquassi Hills, Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District and Matlosana municipalities were removed in the first round Interim Provincial Committee Co-Ordinator, Hlomani Chauke said they were removed because of failure to provide leadership and service delivery. This raised questions why Madibeng was not on the list. Chauke said this removal was only “the first round.” He also said his committee will leave no stone unturned in all municipalities that are implicated in the VBS saga.